Common Sense Tip of the Week: #5

#5- Just because you can, doesn’t mean you should.

“Your scientists were so preoccupied with whether or not they could, they didn’t stop to think if they should.” – Jeff Goldblum in Jurassic Park (one of my favorite movies ever)

I was having a nice discussion with a friend of mine as we were waiting for class to start and this idea came up and I immediately thought to myself “That’s going to be my tip of the week.” So here it is! We were having a discussion about politics at the time and how many young adults choose not to vote. Us being two of them. Now, before I experience extreme backlash from my entire family (which I already have the first time I said this) let me explain. I do not follow anything politics mainly because I am a college student and I spend my time enjoying my last year of freedom before I hit the real world. I watch the candidate’s supporters and observe their behavior because that interests me, I do not follow the actual candidates; I don’t know their policies, ideas, personalities, anything of that sort. So our reasoning was why should we vote if we have no idea what is going on? Just go to the booth and flip a coin? No. Just because I can vote doesn’t mean I should. We went off on this topic for a little while quickly moving away from politics to other discussions yet still revolving around the same idea. We talked about students and the irrational decisions they make because they are in college. When you are out drinking and thinking another tequila shot would be great, remember this.

Leave a Reply

